New Mexico State Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Surveyors
Home
Professional Engineers/ Professional Surveyors
Minutes and Agendas
Resources
Fee
Address Change Request
Complaint Forms/ Disciplinary Actions
License Renewal or Status Applications
Licensing & Applications Forms
Exams
Laws, Rules & Policies
Board Information
Publications
Links
Contact Us

Licensing & Applications Forms

A professional license in New Mexico allows engineers and surveyors to legally represent themselves to the public as engineers and surveyors. Licensees can offer consulting engineering or surveying services to private and public entities. Engineers can perform engineering design or construction on private and public works. Licensed engineers and surveyors are required to adhere to a code of professional conduct established by the Board.

Individuals may become licensed if they possess an approved four-year degree in the profession, have completed at least a four-year internship and have passed the required fundamentals (8 hr.) and the principles and practices (8 hr.) examinations. Engineers and surveyors licensed in other states may apply for licensure by comity or endorsement. However, additional examination(s), internship or education may be required to meet current licensing requirements in New Mexico if the initial out-of-state license is determined not to have been issued under equal or exceeding requirements as New Mexico had at the time of initial licensure.

Additional information is found in the New Mexico Engineering and Surveying Practice Act and Rules and Regulations/Administrative Code. You may also contact the Board office at 505-476-4565.

Announcements

Effective June 14, 2013 - The following are required to be in the Board office no later than thirty (30) calendar days prior to the next scheduled Committee meeting: ALL applications, letters of request to re-take the PE Exam, and ALL supporting documentation.

THERE ARE NO EXCEPTIONS, ALL DOCUMENTS PERTAINING TO THE APPLICATION AND/OR RETAKE OF THE PE EXAM MUST be received on the application deadline indicated below, by no later than 5 pm. Emails and faxes are not acceptable.

Committee Meeting Date Application Deadline
January 23, 2013 December 20, 2013
April 24, 2014 March 24, 2014
June 19, 2014 May 19, 2014

Please note: applications, supporting documentation (that complete a file) and letters of request to re-take the PE exam received after the thirty (30) calendar day deadline will be processed and presented at the next scheduled Committee meeting.

APPLICATIONS

Fees

Please refer to our fee schedule for a breakdown of application, examination, and license renewal fees. Note that all information is current as of June 30, 2009.

Verifications of New Mexico License, Certifications, Exam Scores for other State Boards

At the April 17, 2009 Board meeting, a verification fee was approved. Effective July 1, 2009 the verification fee is $25. Please remember to include, along with the verification form, a check or money order in the amount of $25 made out to: NMBLPEPS.

Application and Other Forms

There are separate application forms for the following licenses and certifications: Professional Engineer, Professional Surveyor. Engineer Intern (Senior Status) and Surveyor Intern (Senior Status). Graduate engineers and surveyors applying to sit for the Fundamentals of Engineering or Fundamentals of Surveying shall use the professional engineer or professional surveyor application form and identify on the form that the exam being applied for is the intern exam. Graduates must have on file with the Board office an official transcript posting the degree to obtain eligibility to sit for an examination or to become a certified intern. Engineering and surveying applications are processed and reviewed independently of each other by the appropriate standing committee of the board. An application must be in the Board office before any other documentation is received. Supporting documents will be purged if the Board office does not have an application on file.

Summary

Once an application file is complete and approved by the Board, and eligibility to sit for an examination has been established, the applicant will be notified of the required examination fee, the dates and locations of the examination(s). The Board office will keep in close contact with the applicant throughout the examination process. If the application was for licensure by comity, you will be notified of the required initial licensing fee. A license number will be issued. The license number will determine when the license will need to be renewed. All even number licenses must be renewed in even number years and all odd number licenses will need to be renewed in odd number years. This places all licenses in a staggered biennial renewal cycle. It is the responsibility of the licensee to notify the board of any changes of address and to maintain the license current.