

New Mexico Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers & Professional Surveyors PO Box 1967 • Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504 2550 Cerrillos Road • Santa Fe, New Mexico 87505 (505) 476-4565 • Fax (505) 476-4802 • www.sblpes.state.nm.us

NM LICENSE RENEWAL GUIDE

To expedite the processing of your annual renewal, take note of the following information, which is in addition to the information provided on the emailed renewal reminder.

Incomplete, illegible, or incorrect information will cause delays in processing your application.

ONLINE RENEWAL

To renew online: <u>https://pepsrenewal.rld.state.nm.us/PersonSearchResults.aspx</u>

If this is your first time renewing online, read the instructions and answers to frequently asked **questions about online renewal.** Provided in the email renewal notice is your Renewal ID number, your name, or you can request this ID number from the Board office. To register online, the key points to remember are.

- You must *register* the first time you use the online process.
- An e-mail address is required so you can receive confirmation of your renewal application.
- A credit card is required for payment. Visa and MasterCard are the only credit cards accepted.
- A processing fee

FEES

The renewal fees for license renewal are the following:

PE License: \$155.00

PS License: \$155.00

PEPS (Dual) License: \$310.00

Fees are non-refundable.

RENEWAL DEADLINE

Note that the renewal deadline is December 31st.

LATE FEE

- You will be assessed a penalty fee at 12:01 a.m. on January 1st.
- Any renewal applications postmarked after the expiration date of the license will be charged a late fee. The penalty renewal fee is double the renewal fee: \$155.00 for single license and \$310.00 for dual license.
- The late fee period deadline is February 28th. You will have to **REINSTATE** your license after March 1st.

EXPIRED LICENSE

<u>Remember that it is unlawful to practice in New Mexico with an expired license.</u> There is NO PENALTY FEE GRACE PERIOD. The expiration date of your license is printed on the pocket card and small certificate. A license not renewed by the expiration date is expired. A license cannot be renewed without renewing, payment of the renewal fee, <u>AND</u> the required penalty renewal fee. Practicing without a license is punishable by fine or imprisonment, or both.

Pursuant to 61-23-20. D. and 61-23-27.7. D. NMSA 1979 of the Engineering and Surveying Practice Act, it is the responsibility of the licensee to notify the office of any address and/or name changes. As a courtesy, the Board office emails a renewal reminder to all current licensees at least 30 days prior to the expiration date of the license. However, the licensee is responsible for knowing when their license expires. It is **NOT** the responsibility of the office to verify that you receive a renewal notice. If you prefer to use a paper renewal form, you can either download one from the website or request one from the Board office by calling (**505**) **476-4565**.

NCEES Continuing Professional Competency (CPC) REGISTRY

Offered free by NCEES, state licensing boards can require a licensee to either meet the requirements of their jurisdiction or the NCEES CPC Standard for renewal purposes. The NCEES CPC Standard requires licensees to acquire 15 PDHs in each calendar year, of which at least one must be earned in an area that focuses on professional engineering or surveying ethics or improving a licensee's methods of business practice or operations.

Read the <u>frequently asked questions</u> to learn more about CPC Tracking.

PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT HOURS

REQUIREMENTS

In accordance with Title 16, chapter 39, Part 2 of the New Mexico Administrative code, all licensees must acquire **30 Professional Development Hours (PDHs), of those at least 2 shall be in ethics/ business-related** during the two-year reporting period as a condition for license renewal. Failure to meet the PDH requirements will result in rejection of renewal.

CARRY-OVERHOURS

- The maximum hours that can be carried over are fifteen (15).
- There is no carry-over of ethic hours. More than 2 hours in ethics will only count towards the general total required 30 PDHs.

PROOF OF ATTENDANCE AND COMPLETION IS ALWAYS REQUIRED IF—

- *You are being audited.* You must e mail your CE certificates of attendance to the email provided on the audit notification. Submit proof of attendance *for the current renewal year only*.
- Be sure your **Certificates of Attendance** include the following:
 - Your name
 - Name of the program attended
 - Dates attended
 - Number of contact hours or continuing education units
 - Signature of the program sponsor

QUALIFYING PDH ACTIVITIES

- Must have taken place during the reporting period (January 1, 2021 through December 31, 2022)
- New Licensees: PDHs are only eligible from the date of initial license to the expiration date.
- Must have a clear purpose and objective which will maintain, improve, or expand the skills and knowledge relevant to the practice of engineering or surveying (courses taken only for personal use would not qualify)
- May include technical, ethical, or managerial content
- Should advance the professional or technical competence of the licensee
- May be sponsored by employers, government agencies, nationally affiliated engineering or surveying technical or professional societies, colleges or universities, or other organizations
- May be earned in any jurisdiction
- All other activities must comply with the New Mexico Administrative Code (NMAC) 16.39.2 Continuing Professional Development.

<u>The Board does not pre-approve courses for PDH credit</u>; it is the licensee's responsibility to ensure that activities meet the professional development requirements and that they are beneficial to the licensee.

DETERMINATION OF PDH CREDIT

- The Board has final authority with respect to approval of activities and PDH value for all activities.
- Dual licensees (individuals holding licenses as a PE and PS) are required to submit a total of 30 PDHs. The Board recommends PDH units be obtained in licensee's area of practice. If you have two licenses, you will renew both in the same year, contact the Board office if you have questions.
- A PDH credit is roughly equivalent to one clock hour of instruction and should be rounded to the nearest half-hour. The following table summarizes the PDH credits for various activities:

TYPE OF ACTIVITY	PDH CREDIT
2 hours of ethics/business-related training	2 PDHs
Active participation in coursework, seminars, or professional or technical presentations made at meetings, conventions, or conferences.	1 hour = 1 PDH
Successful completion of college courses relevant to engineering and surveying.	1 SEM hour = 45 PDHs 1 QTR hour = 30 PDHs
Successful completion of courses offering CEU credit	1 CEU = 10 PDHs
Teaching or instructing above courses/activities (<i>teaching credit is valid for teaching a course or seminar for the first time only; teaching credit does not apply to full-time faculty</i>) Apply multiple of 2	1 hour = 2 PDHs
 Publications: a) Each published peer-reviewed paper or book in the licensee's area of professional practice b) Each published paper or article in the licensee's area of professional practice 	10 PDHs 5 PDHs
Active participation in professional and technical societies (each organization)	2 PDHs
Each patent	10 PDHs
Outreach/Civic or Community activity	1PDH (Max 6 PDHs/biennium)

CLARIFICATION OF ACTIVITIES

- One **CEU** is defined as 10 contact hours of participation in an organized continuing education course under responsible sponsorship, capable direction, and qualified instruction.
- Unit Conversions
 - One PDH, CLP, PDU, or CPE = one contact hour of instruction
 - One CEU = 10 PDH, CLP, PDU, or CPE
- Audited Courses earn PDHs for contact hours only (actual time spent in classroom)
- Webinars, distance-education courses for self-study, tutorials
 - acceptable if appropriate progress/completion documentation is provided to participants
 - would not qualify on an individual basis (no means of verifying progress/completion)
 - may be eligible if presented in a group/formal setting.
- Conferences receive PDHs for number of hours attending professional/technical sessions.
- Presentations by Product/Equipment Vendors & Factory/Plant Tours are eligible only if
 - presentations are of a technical nature and not just a sales demonstration
 - part of a formal training session; not normally obtained in the course of licensee's work.
- Published Papers, Articles, Books may earn credit for authoring or co-authoring only; reviewing and editing of documents would not qualify.
- Professional/Technical Societies
 - may receive 2 PDHs/year for active participation (serving as an officer or on a working committee and not just a dues-paying member)
 - may earn PDHs for attending individual meetings of an organization when an engineering/surveying related topic is presented as a principal part of the program
 - attending regular committee and business meetings would not qualify
- Outreach/Civic or Community Activity
 - To qualify for credit, the activity must focus on helping students in K–12 or higher education understand the importance of professional licensure or on discussing and promoting the surveying/engineering professions as a career choice.
- The following activities are <u>not</u> eligible: personal self-improvement courses, regular employment, task forces/committees within a firm (considered part of employment), HR training courses (ie. sexual harassment training and training for new employees), service club meetings or activities, tutoring students or assisting in a school's computer lab.

EXEMPTIONS

- New Licensees Exempt from the professional development requirements for the first 12 months directly following the issuance of license number; PDHs will be prorated for any remaining portion of the licensing period beyond one year: 1.25 x remaining months. (New Licensees: PDHs are only eligible from the date of your initial license to the expiration date.)
 - Example: For an odd license number issued on 4/30/20, the licensee is exempt of PDHs until 4/30/21. To renew the license in December 2021 (through 12/31/21) the licensee must submit, by 12/31/21, 10 prorated PDHs acquired in 2021 [8 mos. (5/01/21 to 12/31/21) x 1.25 PDHs per mo. = 10 PDHs]. If the odd license number is issued on 12/14/20, the licensee is exempt of PDHs until 12/14/21 and to renew the license in December 2021 (through 12/31/21) only the affidavit statement with the 'new licensee exemption request' box checked & fee must be submitted by 12/31/21.
 - Example: For an even license number issued on 4/30/19, the licensee is exempt of PDHs until 4/30/20. To renew the license in December 2020 (through 12/31/20) the licensee must submit, by 12/31/20, 10 prorated PDHs acquired in 2020 [8 mos. (5/01/20 to 12/31/20) x 1.25 PDHs per mo. = 10 PDHs]. If the <u>even</u> license number is issued on 12/14/19, the licensee is exempt of PDHs until 12/14/20 and to renew the license in December 2020 (through 12/31/20) only the affidavit statement with the 'new licensee exemption request' box checked & fee must be submitted by 12/31/20.

New Licensees: As a reminder, PDHs are only eligible from the date of your initial license to the expiration date.

- Active Duty Military Service A licensee called to active duty in the armed forces of the United States for a period of time exceeding 120 consecutive days in a calendar year may be exempt from obtaining PDHs required during that year (would <u>not</u> apply to regular military career assignments). Please provide documentation showing exact dates and locations of active duty.
- **Physical Disability** Licensees experiencing physical disability, illness, or other extenuating circumstances as reviewed and approved by the Board may be exempt. Please contact the Board office for an Application for Medical Exemption. Remember, "If you can work, you can earn PDH credits."
- **Retired or Inactive Status** Licensees approved by the Board for Retired or Inactive Status shall be exempt from professional development requirements. A request to return to active status requires submittal of PDHs for the preceding biennial cycle. Refer to Title 16.39.1.17. A NMAC regarding the requirements for retired status. Refer to Title 16.39.1.17. D NMAC regarding the requirements for inactive status. If you qualify for retired or inactive status and have not been previously approved by the Board, please contact the Board office for the proper application forms or download an application from the Board's website at <u>www.sblpes.state.nm.us</u>

INSTRUCTIONS & CHECKLIST FOR COMPLETING A RENEWAL FORM:

(<u>Please be advised, paper renewals are being phased out and will no longer be available at a future date.</u>)

- □ NAME & ADDRESS: Please correct your name and mailing address if necessary.
- □ FEES: The Board accepts credit card payments for online renewals only. If you use a check or money order, please enclose the <u>total amount due</u> as printed on the renewal form payable to: NM Board for PE/PS. Be sure your name and license number are included on your check and enclose the completed license renewal statement, which includes the affidavit, with your fee. Fees are non-refundable. The renewal due date is December 31st. You will be assessed a penalty fee on January 1st.
- PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT: The biennial requirement is <u>30</u> hours. Of those hours, <u>2</u> are required in ethics. A maximum of 15 PDHs may be carried over to the next biennium. Please refer to the New Mexico Administrative Code (NMAC) 16.39.2 Continuing Professional Development for additional information. KEEP VERIFYING DOCUMENTATION WITH YOUR RENEWAL RECORDS. DO NOT SUBMIT WITH YOUR RENEWAL. [Refer to Title 16.39.2.8.G NMAC: Record Keeping]
- □ **EXEMPTION REQUEST:** If you are asking for an exemption because of 1) active duty military service, give the exact dates and locations; or 2) physical disability, contact the Board office for an Application for Medical Exemption.
- □ **RETIRED or INACTIVE STATUS APPLICATION:** Refer to the New Mexico Administrative Code (NMAC) 16.39.1.17 regarding the requirements for retired status, inactive status and documentation required to return to practice. Applications for these statuses may be downloaded from the Board's website at <u>www.sblpes.state.nm.us/cpc.html</u>. Retired and inactive status must be requested prior to licensure expiration and the 60 day grace period.
- □ YES TO CONVICTION QUESTION AND/OR BOARD DISCIPLINARY QUESTION: Provide complete and full detail on a separate sheet to include but not limited to: Name and location of court or licensing board administering disciplinary action, date and type of disciplinary action, i.e. fine, imprisonment, sanction, suspension of license, revocation of license, other type of disciplinary action.

□ SIGNATURE: YOUR RENEWAL CANNOT BE PROCESSED WITHOUT YOUR COMPLETED LICENSE RENEWAL STATEMENT/ ORIGINALLY SIGNED AFFIDAVIT AND PAYMENT.

□ KEEP A COPY OF THE COMPLETED FORM FOR YOUR RECORDS.

□ IF THE LICENSE IS NOT RENEWED BY <u>MARCH 1ST BY PAYING THE RENEWAL FEE</u> <u>AND THE LATE PENALTY FEE</u>, A NEW APPLICATION WILL BE REQUIRED TO REINSTATE YOUR LICENSE.

For additional information, please contact the New Mexico Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors at (505) 476-4565.