HOW TO GET LICENSED
Individuals may become licensed if they possess an approved four-year degree in the profession, have completed at least a four-year internship and have passed the required fundamentals (8 hr.) and the principles and practices (8 hr.) examinations.
NEW EXAM PROCESS
The Board administers examinations to Professional Engineer, Engineer Intern, Professional Surveyor and Professional Surveyor Intern applicants who successfully meet the qualifications set forth in the Engineering and Surveying Practice Act.
ONLINE LICENSEE SEARCH
Search our online database to find current licenses.
WHAT’S NEW AT THE NEW MEXICO BOARD OF LICENSURE FOR PROFESSIONAL ENGINEERS & PROFESSIONAL SURVEYORS
New Mexico Professional Surveyors – PDH Reduction for the 2020 and 2021 Renew Cycles
June 5, 2020 – The PDH requirements for New Mexico Licensed Professional Surveyors was reduced to 15 PDHs for the 2020 and 2021 renewal cycles, independent from the requirements for engineers. The 15 PDHs must also include 2 hours in ethics.
Dual licensees are required to follow the engineering standard requirements of 30 PDHs.
NOTICE: ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATION WITH THE BOARD OFFICE [3/24/20]
Santa Fe State Offices
Due to the declared State of Emergency in New Mexico in response to the COVID-19 virus and per Governor Lujan Grisham’s directive all Santa Fe campuses and state buildings are now unaccessible to the public. The Board Office Staff members are on a Work-at-Home schedule. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and please rest assured we are still diligently working to complete applications. During this transition we will do our best to respond to every email as it comes in however it may take up to 72 hours before you receive a response, so please be patient with us. If you wish to submit an application, file a complaint, or any other documents, please mail them to the Board Office. As always, licensees can obtain answers to many of your questions by visiting our website.
Our priority during this time is to protect public health by assisting in limiting the potential spread of COVID-19 in New Mexico.
Thank you for your assistance and cooperation during this time.
NOTICE TO ALL LICENSEES REGARDING ONLINE RENEWALS AND PAY PAL MIGRATION:
Beginning July 15, 2019, there will be a 2.5% transaction fee applied to all online license renewal fees paid to the Board of Licensure for Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors with a credit card, this fee is paid directly as a bank transaction fee, it is not paid to the Board. Thank you.
***NOTICE REGARDING CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS***
Effective December 1, 2017
*As of Friday, December 1, 2017, the Board Office no longer accepts Credit Card payments in person at the office, nor by electronic mail (email), or direct mail.
*The Board Office will continue to accept checks and money orders (no cash) or by direct mail. However, please do not send Credit Card information to the Board Office by electronic mail (e-mail) or by direct mail. Credit card information received via email or regular mail will be destroyed without processing.
*The Board Office will continue to accept Credit Card payments through our existing secure license renewal online systems that can be accessed via the Internet from your home, place of business, or mobile Internet device.
*No credit card breach of data incidents have occurred to date. However, the Board Office is changing credit card processing to ensure a secure system is maintained in the future.
Engineer/Surveyor of Record Affidavit Notice
Effective July 1, 2017 – Pursuant to 61-23-21. (D.) and 61-23-27.9 (D.) of the 2017 New Mexico Engineering and Surveying Practice Act, it is required to file a signed and notarized affidavit designating the authorized company officer and professional engineer/professional surveyor for all business entities offering professional engineering and professional surveying services operating in the State of New Mexico. The forms may be located on the following web pages:
Notice to Licensees – License Status
If you recently renewed your license, please be sure to check its status. If the status is incorrect please contact our Board office so we may correct it.
Thank you and we appreciate your cooperation in this matter.
APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTATION SUBMITTAL DEADLINES
Effective June 14, 2013 – The following are required to be in the Board office no later than thirty (30) calendar days prior to the next scheduled Committee meeting: ALL applications, letters of request to re-take the PE Exam, and ALL supporting documentation.
ALL DOCUMENTS PERTAINING TO APPLICATIONS AND/OR RETAKE OF THE PE EXAM MUST be received on the application deadline indicated below, by no later than 5 pm, not postmarked. Emails and faxes are not acceptable. THERE ARE NO EXCEPTIONS TO THE DEADLINES!
|Committee Meeting Dates||Application Submittal Deadlines|
|August 6, 2020||July 6, 2020|
|November 5, 2020||October 5, 2020|
|January 14, 2021||December 14, 2020|
|April 15, 2021||March 15, 2021|
|June 10, 2021||May 10, 2021|
Please note: applications, supporting documentation (that complete a file), and letters of request to re-take the PE exam received after the thirty (30) calendar day deadline will be processed and presented at the next scheduled Committee meeting.